SolidWorks Enterprise PDM – Using the Cold Storage
SolidWorks Enterprise PDM is in use for managing data for a while now and you have just realized that your vault size is increasing day by day. There’s very little space left on your server hard disk and you need to do something quickly before it is end. What do you do?
The best way to do this in SW EPDM is “Cold Storage Schema”.
Every time you check out a file, make some changes, and check it back in, you are creating a new version of your file on the archive server. Cold Storage will allow you to delete or relocate the least important versions of your files. This is an excellent method to control the size of the archive.
Let me explain you in brief the procedure to do the same.
In the above image “test “is the schema name. Select the Archive server from the drop down list. It is activated only when there is replication in place. Select the appropriate server.
The cold storage method selected is “moving archive files” to the drive F and in folder named ‘cold storage’. In case delete option is selected kindly note that it is unrecoverable once the versions get deleted. Media Name is subdirectory where the files are getting moved. In this case it is 001, 002…
Versions: This assigns the number of versions of your file that are allowed in the vault without being moved to cold storage. In the above image only 4 versions are allowed to keep inside vault. You can make use of the checkbox available to block files getting moved which contains revision.
Folders that are Part of This Schema: It is possible to have different cold storage schemas for different folders of the vault. In the above example, schema is selected for entire vault.
Predefined Intervals: You can choose from a set of predefined intervals in which this cold storage schema will run, or you can select user defined schedule to create your own schedule. In the above example the schedule is such that, this occurs every 15 Mins.
By performing the above mentioned procedure all the older versions are continuously in move as per the path given.
If in case the user wants to reuse one of the older versions (currently in cold storage) to work on, any day the flle can be restored.
In the above example “Revision A” version 3 is being restored.
Click on restore.
As per the image “Version 3” is now available in the main menu till the the next schedule.
Hope this is will be very helpful to you guys in saving some precious space in hard drive..!!